Online Store|
Soapbox| Updates| Forum|
Home| Hockey| Football| Basketball| Baseball| Racing| Soccer|

Rauzulu's Basketball Menu
› Basketball Main Page › NBA › Other Pro Leagues › College Basketball
Latest Sports News
› General Sports News › Hockey News › Football News › Basketball News › Baseball News › Racing News › Soccer News
Questions or Comments?
Post on our Message Board or

National Basketball League (NBL) 1937/38 to 1948/49

The National Basketball League (NBL)

The National Basketball League (NBL) is one of the original leagues prior to the NBA. The National Basketball League was a professional basketball league in the United States from 1937 to 1949. The NBL started with 13 previously independent teams in 1937-38. The league was created by three corporations General Electric, Firestone and Goodyear. The league was made up mostly by teams in small Great Lakes towns and corporate teams. The NBL lasted 12 years before merging with the three-year-old Basketball Association of America in 1949 which was renamed the National Basketball Association. Some of the current NBA teams can chase their roots to the NBL. The Fort Wayner Zolloner Pistons are now the Detorit Pistons, the Detroit Games moved to Minneopolis became the Lakers, then moved on to Los Angeles. and the Rochester Royals are now the Sacramento Kings.

The National Basketball Association (NBA) information on Rauzulu' Street:

National Basketball Association (NBA) Information
National Basketball Association (NBA) Directory
National Basketball Association Team Information
National Basketball Association (NBA) Awards
National Basketball Association (NBA) Records
National Basketball Association (NBA) Champions
National Basketball Association (NBA) All Star Game and Events
National Basketball Association (NBA) History of Leagues
^ top

National Basketball League (NBL) Past Champions

Year Winner  Runner-Up
1938 Goodyear Wingfoots 2-1 Oshkosh All-Stars
1939 Firestone Non-Skids 3-2 Oshkosh All-Stars
1940 Firestone Non-Skids 3-2 Oshkosh All-Stars
1941 Oshkosh All-Stars 3-0 Sheboygan Redskins
1942 Oshkosh All-Stars 2-1 Fort Wayne Pistons
1943 Sheboygan Redskins 2-1 Fort Wayne Pistons
1944 Fort Wayne Pistons 3-0 Sheboygan Redskins
1945 Fort Wayne Pistons 3-2 Sheboygan Redskins
1946 Rochester Royals 3-0 Sheboygan Redskins
1947 Chicago Gears 3-2 Rochester Royals
1948 Minneapolis Lakers 3-1 Rochester Royals
1949 Anderson Packers 3-0 Oshkosh All-Stars

^ top

National Basketball League (NBL) Teams

Akron Firestone Non-Skids (1937-41)
Akron Goodyear Wingfoots (1937-42)
Anderson Duffey Packers (1946-49)
Buffalo Bisons (1937-38)
Chicago Bruins (1939-42)
Chicago Studebaker Flyers (1942-43)
Chicago American Gears (1944-47)
Cleveland Chase Brassmen (1943-44)
Cleveland Allmen Transfers (1944-46)
Columbus Athletic Supply (1938-39)
Dayton Metropolitans (1937-38)
Denver Nuggets (1948-49)
Detroit Eagles (1939-41)
Detroit Gems (1946-47)
Detroit Vagabond Kings/Dayton Rens (1948-49)
Flint Dow A.C.'s/Midland Dow A.C.'s (1947-48)
Fort Wayne General Electrics (1937-38)
Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons (1941-48)
Hammond Ciesar All-Americans (1938-41)
Hammond Calumet Buccaneers (1948-49)
Indianapolis Kautskys (1937-48)
Kankakee Gallagher Trojans(1937-38)
Minneapolis Lakers (1947-48)
Oshkosh All-Stars (1937-49)
Pittsburgh Pirates (1937-39)
Pittsburgh Raiders (1944-45)
Richmond King Clothiers/Cincinnati Comellos (1937-38)
Rochester Royals (1945-48)
Sheboygan Redskins (1938-49)
Syracuse Nationals (1946-49)
Toledo Jim White Chevrolets (1941-43)
Toledo Jeeps (1946-48)
Tri-Cities Blackhawks (1946-49)
Warren Penns (1937-38)
Warren Penns/Cleveland White Horses (1938-39)
Waterloo Hawks (1948-49)
Whiting Ciesar All-Americans (1937-38)
Youngstown Bears (1945-47)


National Basketball League (NBL) Leading Scorers

Year NamePoints PPG Avg
1937-38 Leroy Edwards, Oshkosh 210 16.2
1938-39 Leroy Edwards, Oshkosh 334 11.9
1939-40 Leroy Edwards, Oshkosh 361 12.9
1940-41 Ben Stephens, Akron 265 11.0
1941-42 Chuck Chuckovits, Toledo 406 18.5
1942-43 Bobby McDermott, Ft. Wayne 316 13.7
1943-44 Mel Riebe, Cleveland 323 17.9
1944-45 Mel Riebe, Cleveland 607 20.2
1945-46 Bob Carpenter, Oshkosh 473 13.9
1946-47 Al Cervi, Rochester
George Mikan, Chicago
1947-48 George Mikan, Minneapolis 1195 21.3
1948-49 Don Otten, Tri-Cities 899 14.0

^ top

National Basketball League (NBL) Awards

Year MVP Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year
1937-38 Leroy Edwards, Osh.Bob Kessler, Ind. Cliff Byers, Akron-GY
1938-39 Leroy Edwards, Osh. Jewell Young, Ind. Paul Sheeks, Akron-Fire.
1939-40 Leroy Edwards, Osh. Ben Stephens, Akron-GY Paul Sheeks, Akron-fire.
1940-41 Ben Stephens, Akron-GY Ed Sadowski, Ind. George Hotchkiss, Osh.
1941-42 Chuck Chuckovits, Toledo George Glamack, Akron-GY Lon Darling, Oshkosh
1942-43 Bobby McDermott, Ft W.Ken Buehler, Sheboygen Carl Roth, Sheboygen
1943-44 Bobby McDermott, Ft W. Mel Reibe, Cleveland Bobby McDermott, Ft W.
1944-45 Bobby McDermott, Ft W. Red Holzman, Rochester Bobby McDermott, Ft W.
1945-46 Bobby McDermott, Ft W. Goerge Mikan, Minn. Lester Harrison, Roch.
1946-47 Bob Davies, Rochester Fred Lewis, Sheboygen Lon Darling, Oshkosh
1947-48 Goerge Mikan, Minn. Marko Todorivich, Sheb. Murray Mendenhall, And.
1948-49 Don Otten, Tri-Cities Dolph Schayes, Syracuse Al Cervi, Syracuse