National Hockey League (NHL) Awards


National Hockey League (NHL) Awards

The Hockey Area....a guide to the greatest game on ice.


National Hockey League (NHL) Information
National Hockey League (NHL) Directory
National Hockey League (NHL) Awards
National Hockey League (NHL) Records
National Hockey League (NHL) Champions (Stanley Cup)
National Hockey League (NHL) Entry Draft
National Hockey League (NHL) All Star Game and Events
National Hockey League (NHL) Year by Year
National Hockey League (NHL) Player Information
National Hockey League (NHL) Coaches Information
National Hockey League (NHL) Major Rule Changes
National Hockey League (NHL) Expansion History
Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees

National Hockey League (NHL) King Clancy Memorial Trophy Information

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community. The winner is chosen by a special panel of representatives from the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and the NHL Broadcasters' Association. The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is named in honour of Francis M. "King" Clancy, a former player for the Ottawa Senators and Toronto Maple Leafs who later went on to become a coach, referee, and team executive. The trophy was first awarded in 1988, and was presented to the National Hockey League by its board of governors.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy Winners

1987-88 - - Lanny McDonald - Calgary Flames
1988-89 - - Bryan Trottier - New York Islanders
1989-90 - - Kevin Lowe - Edmonton Oilers
1990-91 - - Dave Taylor - Los Angeles Kings
1991-92 - - Raymond Bourque - Boston Bruins
1992-93 - - Dave Poulin - Boston Bruins
1993-94 - - Adam Graves - New York Rangers
1994-95 - - Joe Nieuwendyk - Calgary Flames
1995-96 - - Kris King - Winnipeg Jets
1996-97 - - Trevor Linden - Vancouver Canucks
1997-98 - - Kelly Chase - St. Louis Blues
1998-99 - - Rob Ray - Buffalo Sabres
1999-00 - - Curtis Joseph - Toronto Maple Leafs
2000-01 - - Shjon Podein - Colorado Avalanche
2001-02 - - Ron Francis - Carolina Hurricanes
2002-03 - - Brendan Shanahan - Detroit Red Wings
2003-04 - - Jarome Iginla - Calgary Flames
2005-06 - - Olaf Kolzig - Washington Capitals
2006-07 - - Saku Koivu - Montreal Canadiens
2007-08 - - Vincent Lecavalier - Tampa Bay Lightning
2008-09 - - Ethan Moreau - Edmonton Oilers
2009-10 - - Shane Doan - Phoenix Coyotes

National Hockey League Awards


National Hockey  League Contact Information

National Hockey  League
1251 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020


The National Hockey League (NHL) is the premier hockey league in the world. The National Hockey League (NHL) currently consists of 30 teams, in major cities of the United States and Canada.The NHL was founded in 1917 amid a storm of controversy in Canadian hockey leagues.