Online Store|
Soapbox| Updates| Forum|
Home| Hockey| Football| Basketball| Baseball| Racing| Soccer|

Rauzulu's Hockey Menu
› Hockey Main Page › National Hockey League › Other Pro Leagues › Major Jr A › Junior Hockey › College Hockey › World Hockey
Latest Sports News
› General Sports News › Hockey News › Football News › Basketball News › Baseball News › Racing News › Soccer News
Questions or Comments?
Post on our Message Board or

World Cup of Hockey (Previously Canada Cup) Championship

The World Cup of Hockey Championship

Until the Olympics opened their doors to the NHL's best athletes, in 1998, the World Cup of Hockey and its predecessor, the Canada Cup, represented the only world hockey championships truly open to the world's best players.

Following the exciting 1972 Summit Series between Canada and the Soviet Union, interest in a world professional ice hockey championship increased substantially. The Canada Cup would bring together the top hockey-playing countries in the world. It was held in 1976, 1981, 1984, 1987 and 1991. It featured competition between national teams of Canada, Czechoslovakia, Finland, the Soviet Union, Sweden, and the United States. The Canada Cup was replaced in 1996 with the World Cup of Hockey.

World Cup Hockey and Olympic Hockey pages on Rauzulu's Street:

World Hockey Main Page
Mens World Hockey Championship Past Winners
Olympic Games Past Hockey Champions
World Junior Tournament Winners
World Cup of Hockey (Canada Cup)
1976 Canada Cup Recap
1981 Canada Cup Recap
1984 Canada Cup Recap
1987 Canada Cup Recap
1991 Canada Cup Recap
1996 World Cup Recap
2004 World Cup Recap

^ top

Canada Cup/World Cup of Hockey Past Winners

1972 Canada  USSR Summit Series
1976  Canada  Czechoslovakia USSR Canada Cup
1981 USSR Canada Czechoslovakia Canada Cup
1984 Canada Sweden USSR Canada Cup
1987 Canada USSR Sweden Canada Cup
1991 Canada USA Finland Canada Cup
1996 USA Canada Russia World Cup
2004 Canada Finland   World Cup

Summit series in 1972 played only between Canada and the USSR.